User: Using Collections in the DAM

What are Collections?

Collections allow users to share a specific group of assets with one, some, or all DAM users. Users can also share Collections with public users who are not registered in the DAM. Collections are commonly used to highlight new marketing campaigns for specific groups of assets.

Those with access  will see ‘Collections’ in the left navigation bar.

DAM_Navigation_Select_Collection.png

Note

Collection options will only be display if a user has created a collection or had a collection shared with them by an administrator.

Creating Collections

A user can create a collection from a user's Download Queue. Once all desired assets are added, select the ‘Save as Collection’ option from the top of the queue.

Note

Only admin users or users granted access to this feature can create Collections.

DAM_Download_Queue_Save_as_Collection.png

Selecting this button opens a pop-up window where users can set the Collection information. 

Collection fields are as follows: 

  • Collection Name: The title that will identify the collection and the name that displays from the collection drop down menu.
  • Expiry Date for Public Collection: This is an optional field that allows the collection to have an expiration date if being shared publicly. 
  • Choose users to share this collection with: Filter and select from existing DAM users who can access your collection. 

Best Practice

Always select yourself from the user options to add the Collection to your navigation. If you do not select yourself, you can still access the Collection from the side navigation under ‘Review’ then ‘Collections’.

DAM_Collection_Create_a_New_Collection.png

Once a user completes all options, select the ‘Submit’ button to create the Collection. The system sends an email to each of the selected users notifying them that they have been added to the collection and providing them with a link to access it. 

Adding Assets

The first step in adding assets to an existing collection is adding the assets to the Download Queue. Click here for more information on managing assets in the DAM Knowledgebase.

DAM_Asset_Download_Options.png

Once a user has added all the new assets to the Download Queue, select the ‘Add to Existing Collection’ option from the top of the queue. 

Selecting this button opens a pop-up with an alphabetical list of existing collections in the system. Select the collection or collections to add the assets and click ‘Submit’. 

DAM_Collections_Add_to_Existing_Collection_Pop_Up.png

Removing Assets

Remove an asset from an existing collection by selecting the ‘Remove’ button located next to an asset. 

DAM_Collection_Removing_Assets.png

Note

Assets require individual removal, they cannot be removed in bulk.

Managing Existing Collections

Once a collection has been created, users then have the ability to manage it’s contents and users. 

Note

Additional options to manage collections only apply to collections created by the user. If a collection is shared, users will not be able to edit the collection options. However, Admin users will be able to manage all collections and their options.

To manage Collection, first select the collection from the side navigation under the ‘Collections’ dropdown.

DAM_Navigation_Select_Collection.png

Selecting this navigation option opens up the individual Collection’s page. From here, users can manage the collection contents and share them with additional users. 

Managing Public/Private Access

By default, only the DAM user that created the collection can access it. However, users can make Collections accessible to the public by selecting the ‘Make Collection Public/Private’ button, found at the top of the collection screen.

DAM_Collection_Make_Collection_Public-Private.png

Private Collections

Use private collections to share a specific group of assets with a specific user, multiple users or all users in the system. Organizations commonly use Collections to highlight new marketing campaigns, promotions or photo shoots.

Public Collections

Use public collections to share a collection outside the system with users who are not registered in the DAM. In this case, users can send a system-generated link that allows an outside party to access and download the assets within the collection.

Creating Duplicate Collections 

Use a current Collection as the starting point for creating an additional Collection. To do this, select the ‘Duplicate Collection’ button from the top of the collection screen.

DAM_Collection_Duplicate_Collection.png

Selecting this option opens a pop-up window where a user can enter in a name for the collection.

After adding the name, select the ‘Submit’ button to create the new collection. This collection will be populated with the same assets as the original collection, but users can manage the new collection without affecting the original collection.

DAM_Collection_Duplicate_Collection_Pop_Up.png

Note

Users with access to the original collection will also have access to the duplicate collection. Access can be managed within the new collection.

Editing Collection Information and Access

Once a collection has been created, users can edit its information, including who has access to it. Select the ‘Edit Collection’ button from the top of the collection screen to make any updates.

DAM_Collection_Edit_Collection.png

Selecting the ‘Edit Collection’ option opens a pop-up window containing the collection’s information.

Users can take the following action from this pop-up window:

  • Rename the Collection.
  • Add in an expiry date, if the Collection is used publicly.
  • Manage the users who have access to the Collection. 

DAM_Collection_Edit_Collection_pop_up.png

Note

Removing a user from a collection does not automatically send a notification.

Deleting a Collection

Remove existing collections from the system by selecting the ‘Delete Collection’ button at the top of the collection screen.

DAM_Collection_Delete_Collection.png

Selecting this option prompts a pop-up asking to confirm the permanent deletion of the collection. Select ‘OK’ to confirm or ‘Cancel’ to stop the process. 

Once confirmed, the system permanently deletes the collection from the DAM, which includes the removal of all users that were granted access.


Quick Links to Knowledgebase Articles Referenced in This Document